Tennessee lawmakers to elect 3 statewide officials

Published: Jan. 13, 2021 at 7:30 AM EST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) — Tennessee lawmakers are poised to vote Wednesday to reelect the secretary of state and treasurer and pick a new comptroller.

The vote will come a day after the House and Senate Republican supermajorities nominated Jason Mumpower to become comptroller and Secretary of State Tre Hargett and Treasurer David Lillard to keep their positions.

Mumpower is the top deputy for current Comptroller Justin Wilson, who is retiring. Mumpower is a former Republican state representative from northeast Tennessee.

Lawmakers first elected Wilson, Hargett and Lillard to their statewide offices in 2009.

The secretary of state is elected to four-year terms, while the comptroller and treasurer serve two-year terms.

Copyright 2021 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.